Seek and Ye Shall Find: But What Should I Seek?

I’ve been thinking lately about how much my heart is focused on this world. I ran across this place in Hebrews, where the writer reminded the people that they…”took joyfully the spoiling of your goods, knowing in yourselves that ye have in heaven a better and an enduring substance.” (Heb. 10:34b)

What about us? Are our hearts set on the things above, the eternal heavenly things, so much that we could have our goods spoiled and be joyful about it? Think about it. Could I have some thief come in and ransack my home and take all my most valuable worldly possessions and still be joyful?

Or instead, do my thoughts and longings revolve around worldly things, like money to pay off our bills or stuff for fixing up our home?

Col. 3:1-2: “If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above…Set your affection on things above.”

Affection. The things I love, desire, long for.

Matt. 6:33: “Seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness….”

Sounds like it naturally follows then that if I focus on following after the spiritual riches, the things above, the kingdom of God, then I will find it.

1 Cor. 10:24: “Let no man seek his own, but every man another’s wealth.” What? Seek good things for someone else instead of for myself?

And seek not ye what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink, neither be ye of doubtful mind. (In other words, don’t be worried about stuff!) For all these things do the nations of the world seek after: and your Father knoweth that ye have need of these things. But rather seek ye the kingdom of God; and all these things shall be added unto you.” (Luke 12:29-31)

Just a few thoughts on seeking. Let’s all seek the Lord while He may be found!! God bless you.

Leave a Reply

