Thoughts on Focus

First, a link you are sure to appreciate:  http://www.biblegateway.com/ This site lets you read a variety of Bible languages and versions and do keyword searches and passage look-ups.  I have it on my Bookmark Toolbar so that any time I’m online and want to check a Bible reference, I can do it with a quick click.

This morning I did a keyword search in the KJV of the word “magnify.”  And here’s why.

I mentioned back a post or two that I’ve figured out that I fit the mold of a “highly sensitive person” (aka “an HSP.”)  Just laying that label on myself seems to have increased the problems associated with a being an HSP.  Well, I just remembered an important concept I learned a year or two ago at church, and it has to do with “focus.”

When you focus a telescope, a pair of binoculars, or a microscope, what do you do?  You make the object you are investigating bigger. You “magnify” it.

So here’s the concept.  When we are trying to overcome a weakness or sin, we need to focus on, thus magnify, the Source of our help rather than focusing on the weakness or sin itself.  In other words, aim our sights on Jesus and zero in!

One way we can do this is through heartfelt, enthusiastic praise.  Read Psalm 34:1-5 with me and see if you don’t agree.

1 I will bless the LORD at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.

2 My soul shall make her boast in the LORD: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad.

3 O magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together.

4 I sought the LORD, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.

5 They looked unto him, and were lightened: and their faces were not ashamed.

Since I’ve been contemplating mental health lately and how to keep it, look at these words above.  In verse 2 it says that we can be “glad” when we praise the Lord.  (An antidote to depression, maybe?)  Then in verse 4, the Lord “delivers us from our fears” when we praise Him.  (Help for anxiety, perhaps?)  And finally, in verse 5, looking to the Lord, focusing on Him, yields faces that are “not ashamed.”  (Help for low self-esteem, right?)

In this one brief passage, we see that keeping the focus of our heart on the Lord, magnifying Him, as it were, will help us in three major areas of emotional weakness:  depression, fear, and low self-esteem.

To all that I can only say…

AMEN!

By the way, I am indebted to the teaching of Andrew Wommack for the concept that when we focus our attention on something it becomes bigger in our lives.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Focus

Leave a Reply

