Why I Love Autumn Leaves

Wow!  I got a comment from a reader!  Thank you so much, Guilty Secret!  (Luv that name, btw.)

Technically it is still summer for a few more days, but if you look at any scenic calendar for September, you will probably see autumn leaves.  A couple of years ago, when I went through the worst part of my midlife crisis (not sure I’m through with it yet!) the autumn leaf became a symbol for me.

Part of the HSP thing, maybe the main part, is that we resist any type of change.  Yet autumn is the ultimate change, sort of like death, because the brightness, warmth, and youthful liveliness of summer is moving into the barren frost of winter.

To me the bright colors of the autumn trees speak of having the faith to face the changes that are inevitable in life, especially as we start to realize that we are getting older, that we are entering the autumns of our own lives.

I’ve been so sensitive lately that I decided to clear my plate of extra-curricular activities, and pare back down to the basics of taking care of my husband, kids, health, and home, with just enough writing work to be therapeutic.  I asked my husband if I could stay home from anything that sparks dread in my heart, and I think I got a reluctant yes from him.

I’m so glad I have him.

Back to change…I think I got my HSP-ness from my mother.  We never changed anything.  We did go on trips quite frequently, just driving long distances and sometimes sleeping in the van.  We used relatives as an excuse to go places but really didn’t care that much about seeing them.  It was a little bit duty and a lot excuse.  I think we liked traveling because it was a way to get stimulation into our lives without changing anything permamently.  It was a sort of risk-taking and adventuring that we could control.

Speaking of travel, stimulation, and being an HSP, does anyone else get overloaded at a place like Six Flags?

And my family…about the time I turned a teenager, our city got its first and only mall.  I loved going, but our family always (I mean always) got into a fight on our way home.  I can see now that we were all overloaded with stimulation and took it out on each other.

So where am I going with this?  Just that when you are dealing with too much sensitivity to stimulation and being easily overloaded, when you are confronted with remarks that feel like they were intended to wound you, words that feel like a knife in your heart, it takes faith to take on a new day.  And it really takes faith to take on a new season.  And it especially takes faith to look old age in the face and say, “I’m ready for you!”

Here’s Psalm 121.  I think it is especially appropriate for HSPs dealing with the changes of life.

1 I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.

2 My help cometh from the LORD, which made heaven and earth.

3 He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.

4 Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.

5 The LORD is thy keeper: the LORD is thy shade upon thy right hand.

6 The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.

7 The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.

8 The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.

Don’t you love that last verse?  Yes, Lord, keep it like it’s always been, now and forever.

Leave a Reply

