Update

First, in my last post, months ago I know, I was wrong about what DSP stands for. It stands for direct support professional. Also, either I was wrong about my master’s program or the school bumped up the requirements, because I’m not as close to graduating as I thought I was, even though I’ve finished a few more classes.

Anyway, since I’m between quarters and have learned so much about mental health since I started school, I thought I’d dust off the old website and blog and see if I could get it going a little more faithfully.

One thing I’d like to share is that I’ve discovered a secular mental health resource that I think could be one of the most helpful things I’ve found for my own anxiety and depression issues in a long time. It’s a self-help support group called Recovery International. It’s been around since 1937! So some of their terms seem kind of dated.  The method basically involves reminding yourself of certain common sense principles any time you start to have symptoms of your emotional struggle, whatever it may be.  I haven’t been to an actual meeting because the closest local meetings occur on the same night as Celebrate Recovery, and I hate to miss those meetings. But I’ve been visiting the RI Facebook page. RI also has online meetings, but I have not tried attending one of them yet.

Anyway, here’s a link to their website.

One thought on “Update

  1. Hello! I was searching for “Celebrate Recovery” on WordPress just to see what’s out there, and I came across your blog. I wish you all the best with your recovery!

Leave a Reply

