Do I Despise Discipline?

Some Thoughts on Discipline

“The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge
but fools despise wisdom and discipline.” Prov. 1:7

I started reading the book of Proverbs back on the 1st, but I got stuck on that verse. Mainly I got stuck on the word “discipline.” I love wisdom, but how do I really feel about discipline?

Discipline….
Is clearing my “hot spots”* daily
And doing the dishes
It’s cooking vegetables and real food
When I’d rather fix a quick package of ramen noodles
It’s making my bed
And returning calls in a timely fashion.
Sometimes discipline means being decisive.
It’s getting a shower when I am cold
and really not looking forward to being wet and undressed. Brrr.
It’s exercising. Really. And regularly.
Discipline is spending time with God
that looks like time with God…
Not just flare prayers and talking to myself
And reading Thomas Merton on my Kindle until I fall asleep.

Which makes me wonder….
Do I despise discipline?

As I face another season of crafting New Years’ Resolutions
I really want to consider this thought

because to despise discipline
is to be a fool.

Can I truly say I love wisdom? Or even that I love God?
If I chafe at the thought of a disciplined life?

Some Bible thoughts on the subject…..

Job 36:10, KJV “He (God) openeth their ear to discipline….”

Pr. 15:5b “…..whoever heeds correction shows prudence.”

Pr. 15:9-10 “The LORD detests the way of the wicked
but he loves those who pursue righteousness.
Stern discipline awaits him who leaves the path;
he who hates correction will die.”

Pr. 6:23b “….and the corrections of discipline are the way to life.”

*Hot spots, a term used by Flylady, are places where you tend to pile papers or other things, making a room look messy. Part of her housekeeping routine is to “put out fires” regularly. That is, to clear those spots. My major hot spot is my dining room table. My goodness! I’m hoping to get control of it when I get my office set up. Of course, part of the reason I wanted an “office” is so I could close the door on the mess of my paperwork!

Organization was never one of my natural gifts, no matter how much I may love the idea.

Leave a Reply

