Journaling, Positive Thinking, and Inspiration

37. Meditate Meme

I am a firm believer in the value of journal writing as therapy and a source of inspiration. I wrote this acrostic poem for the word “Inspiration” and wanted to share it.

Inspiration….a
New awareness
Settles down on my
Perception, so that my perspective is
Illuminated to a view of a
Rosier reality
Arising from the constant din of
Terror-laden opinions and
Information, bringing hope that we can
Overcome this ever-present
Negativity with a nicer now!

Personally, I think acrostic poems are a wonderful way to flesh out one’s thoughts on a topic. (In case you don’t know what that is, it’s a poem where each line starts with a letter in the word, so that you can see the word written up and down.) I also like other poetry formats, such as the traditional 5-7-5 haiku. When I think about what my “calling” in life is, I often arrive at the idea that I am first and foremost a poet. Poetry just happens for me. When I write in my journals, my words just naturally fall into poems and songs. Often they fall into prayers, too.

The Psalms in the Bible are poems that I think might have started in someone’s prayer journal! Many were written by King David, of course, but not all of them. Anyway, I have noticed a pattern in many of the Psalms that the writer begins with lamenting a situation in her life and then gathers her courage for a last few lines of hope. (I know the writers were probably all male, but there may have been a woman. You never know.)

I think there was only one psalm I found that ended on a sour note.

Of course when journaling, you can end upbeat or sour according to your own wishes, but I like to bring things up, with a prayer for miraculous intervention and provision and a hope that all will turn out well.

I’ve been accused of being a pollyanna, head-in-the-sand type of person. But to me, that’s what faith is. When you gather your courage and decide that even in the face of all the bad news, you’re going to hope that there is a good God out there, that the universe is, after all, a friendly one.

Years ago a co-worker made the comment to me, “You’re so negative.” I didn’t believe it, but it stuck in my brain, and I wondered what made her say that. Later on, the year I turned 40, I was dealing with some depression. I think it was actually what writer and psychologist Jean Lush called “mid-life malaise.” Anyway, as I was praying about what to do, I felt like the Lord said to me, “Go down there to the library and check out a book on positive thinking.” I put off the urge for a couple of months as I recall, but I eventually did check out The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale. That book changed my life. I made a list of concepts that resonated with me, and I still have that original list 18 years later.

I may share more about that in the future, but for now, chin up, think positive, and write in your journals, folks!

Leave a Reply

